Connect with us


Uber & Lyft Support Bonilla in Addressing Insurance Gap Coverage for Driver




Uber and Lyft announced their removal of opposition and revealed their support of Assemblywoman Susan Bonilla’s AB 2293 last week.

Throughout the process, both companies adamantly opposed the measure, which would address the dangerous gap in insurance coverage for their drivers. In response to concerns from drivers and consumers of Transportation Network Companies (TNCs), Bonilla proposed a fair compromise that Uber and Lyft could no longer resist.

“AB 2293 ensures that Uber and Lyft drivers are able to purchase affordable insurance which

Assemblywoman Susan Bonilla

Assemblywoman Susan Bonilla

< p class=”p1″>protects consumers and the general public in case an accident occurs,” said Bonilla. “AB 2293 creates a seamless process between a driver’s personal and commercial insurance coverage while providing remedies for victims.”

The amendments specifically include creating a personal insurance firewall to ensure personal insurance auto policyholders will no longer subsidize the commercial activity of TNCs, beginning July 1, 2015; lowering the primary insurance coverage requirement in the timeframe formerly known as, “App On to Match,” to: $50,000/$100,000/$30,000 with excess coverage of $200,000; ensuring CA Public Utilities Commission oversight of Transportation Network Companies (TNC) such as Uber and Lyft; and, expediting the approval process for new TNC insurance products.

lyft“AB 2293 is a testament to good public policy. I have worked hard to assure that consumers and TNC drivers are protected, while also allowing this innovative business model to thrive,” said Bonilla. “This bill creates a policy that is both affordable and flexible, but still ensures corporate accountability. My ultimate goal was to demonstrate that business innovation and consumer protection are not mutually exclusive, while also facilitating the maturation of this new industry into our economy.”

Assemblywoman Susan A. Bonilla (D-Concord) was elected in November 2010 and represents California’s 14th Assembly District, which includes Contra Costa County and Solano County.



Copyright ©2020 Post News Group, Inc. All Rights Reserved.