Connect with us


Dr. Washington Receives Tyler Prize for His Contributions to Climate Change Research




On May 3, Dr. Warren Washington became the 77th Tyler Prize Laureate for his contributions to climate change research.  The Tyler Prize which is often referred to as the Nobel Prize for environmental achievement comes with a $200,000 award.

Dr. Washington shares the prize with Dr. Michael Mann, who has also done outstanding climate change research.

Dr. Washington is among the first scientists to develop computer models that demonstrates  human activities contribute to changes in climate.

A distinguished scholar at the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) , he is considered a global leader in climate modeling.  He has advised six U.S. Presidents on Climate Change: Carter, Reagan, Bush Sr., Clinton, Bush Jr., and Obama.  Dr. Washington’s public service was recognized by President Obama, who awarded him the 2010 National Medal of Science, the highest scientific award given in the United States.

Dr. Washington holds a bachelor’s degree in physics and a master’s degree in meteorology both from Oregon State University, as well as a Ph.D. in meteorology from Pennsylvania State University.  Washington’s pioneering work on global climate models has influenced decades of research into climate change.  He was honored for his crucial contributions to climate science and his tireless dedication to communicating his research to policymakers and the public. The Tyler Prize recognizes his efforts in explaining key tenets of climate science to policymakers and other top level scientists.  He was the first African American to serve as President of the National Meteorological Society.  He has served on the National Science Board.

In making this award to Dr. Washington, the Tyler Prize Executive Committee said that “he has not only advanced our knowledge of climate change but also demonstrated exceptional courage and commitment to public policy.”

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *